top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

January Wrap-Up



Crazy Rich Asians (Crazy Rich Asians, #1) ~ Kevin Kwan

Started: December 31st 2018

Finished: January 2nd 2019

Rated: 3.5

Likes: Rachel, Nick and Astrids storylines, Drama (I guess)

Dislikes: Other pointless point of views/storylines

Notes: Want to know what happens with Nick & Rachel


Red Queen (Red Queen, #1) ~ Victoria Aveyard

Started: January 3rd 2019

Finished: January 5th 2019

Rated: 3.5

Likes: Overall story, Plot twist

Dislikes: Characters, Slow beginning

Notes: Will most likely read other books in series


The Mermaid ~ Christina Henry

Started: January 6th 2019

Finished: January 8th 2019

Rated: 4

Likes: Not childish, Aspects of realism

Dislikes: Ending

Notes: Everything about this book was great for me besides the ending


The Dog Stars ~ Peter Heller

Started: January 8th 2019

Finished: DNF on January 9th 2019

Rated: I don't rate books I don't finish

Likes: None

Dislikes: The writing style!

Notes: The minute I started this book I was disinterested. The writing style killed any hope this book had of me reading it.


People Kill People ~ Ellen Hopkins

Started: January 9th 2019

Finished: January 10th 2019

Rated: 4

Likes: The alternating and interweaving perspectives, talks about controversial topics in a respectable way

Dislikes: Slow middle, lack of character attachment

Notes: This book has triggers, one major one being guns.

Ellen Hopkins is one of my favorite authors!


When Dimple Met Rishi ~ Sandhya Menon

Started: January 11th 2019

Finished: January 13th 2019

Rated: 4

Likes: Cute, refreshing, teen romance

Dislikes: No information about web developing?

Notes: Kind of cliché but it's enjoyable


Turtles All The Way Down ~ John Green

Started: January 13th 2019

Finished: January 16th 2019

Rated: 2

Likes: Character with mental illness

Dislikes: Literally no plot, overwhelming anxiety that took over the novel

Notes: I know I'm contradicting myself by saying I like that there is a character with mental illness but that she also made me dislike this novel. It's nice to see representation of mental illness within books, but when the ENTIRE book is just her anxiety ridden head, it's not enjoyable and makes my anxiety spike.


A Very Large Expanse of Sea ~Tahereh Mafi

Started: January 16th 2019

Finished: January 17th 2019

Rated: 5

Likes: Relationship, Writing, Racial Diversity, Breakdancing

Dislikes:

Notes: Everything about this book was perfect. I really admire the writing style because it was written incredibly well. My favorite book of 2019 so far. Recommend to EVERYONE.

P.S. Ocean is my new book boyfriend.


Once And For All ~ Sarah Dessen

Started: January 17th 2019

Finished: DNF on January 18th 2019

Rated: I don't rate books I don't finish

Likes: Written by Sarah Dessen

Dislikes: Everything besides that ^

Notes: Sarah Dessen was one of my favorite authors when I was in my younger teen years but now, especially after reading such a great book before this, I just couldn't try to read this. I wasn't interested and for some reason I thought I would be but oh my gosh it was so boring. I don't even think I made it to the second chapter. Sorry Sarah Dessen, I think we have to break up.


The Raven Boys ~ Maggie Stiefvater

Started: January 18th 2019

Finished: January 23rd 2019

Rating: 4.5

Likes: Characters, drama, the magic realism

Dislikes: Kind of confusing, slow beginning

Notes: The last 150 pages of the book were impossible to set down and it ended up being so good.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page