top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

June Wrap-Up



Little Fires Everywhere ~ Celeste Ng

Started: May 30th 2019

Finished: June 1st 2019

Rated: 5

Likes: Intrigue, Characters, Plot

Dislikes: I'm unsatisfied by the way that the story ended but I understand that it had to be that way. I wish more was done with Mia's backstory and Mrs. Richardson, I feel like more could've been done with that.

Notes: This may be the first and last time I say this but I enjoyed the random flow of the plot. I had no idea where the story was going but I enjoyed it, then when I did understand it got SO MUCH MORE INTERESTING!! I was shook to say the least.


Wonder Woman ~ Leigh Bardugo

Started: June 2nd 2019

Finished: DNF'd June 2nd 2019

Rated: I don't rate books I don't finish

Likes: I didn't get far enough to like anything

Dislikes: Within the first chapter there was way too much description with no explanation and I was already lost and disinterested

Notes: I felt more like I was forcing myself to try and read this rather than choosing to read it.


Rebel of Sands ~ Alwyn Hamilton

Started: June 1st 2019

Finished: June 8th 2019

Rated: 3

Likes: Magical aspect, desert setting, banter between Amani & Jin

Dislikes: Confusing as hell, almost too much background and description

Notes: This book would've been rated higher if I knew what the heck was going on for a majority of the time, but of course I didn't so that was the main thing that brought this book down for me.


The Prince and the Dressmaker ~ Jen Wang

Started: June 12th 2019

Finished: June 12th 2019

Rated: 5

Likes: ART, Characters, Plot, Setting, LGBTQ+ rep

Dislikes: None

Notes: THIS GRAPHIC NOVEL WAS PRECIOUS OMG. Perfect for Pride Month 🏳️‍🌈


With the Fire on High ~ Elizabeth Acevedo

Started: June 12th 2019

Finished: June 15th 2019

Rated:

Likes: Plot, Dynamic between characters, CULINARY ASPECT AH!

Dislikes: This might just be me, but sometimes I didn't like Emoni? Idk

Notes: THE RECIPES FAM. I loved that added part. Like it didn't have to be there but it was and I enjoyed it for that simple reason alone.


Wilder Girls ~ Rory Power

Started: June 2nd 2019

Finished: June 17th 2019

Rated: 3

Likes: Friendships, LGBTQ+, Mystery vibe

Dislikes: Romance?? Cure for Tox

Notes: Received an arc from Net Galley for an honest review. Expected Release: July 16th 2019

The romance was pretty much non existent after the first connection and I'm not sure if I missed something but they never really closed it? I wish the supposed cure had been talked about more. Like progress or something. But even when they were testing on Hetty, they didn't really describe what they were doing or what it meant to combat, other than "they tried another cure, your body fought it off" Also I guess I was expecting more of retelling of Lord of the Flies, In a way this book had that but not enough for my liking. The ending for me was just meh.


The Gamer's Guide To Getting The Girl ~ Kristine Scarrow

Started: June 18th 2019

Finished: June 18th 2019

Rating: 1

Likes: Tornado

Dislikes: Characters, Plot, Insta-"Love"

Notes: Received an arc from Net Galley for an honest review. Expected Release: July 16th 2019

I overall really disliked everything about this.


Resisting Happiness ~ Matthew Kelly

Started: June 17th 2019

Finished: June 20th 2019

Rating: 5

Likes: Made me think about a lot of aspects in my life and about life in general

Dislikes: None

Notes: This book made me cry within the first five pages, it's not important why but that holds significant value to me. It also made me think about my relationship with God, which is something I haven't done in I don't know how long, but I'm very glad I did with the help of this book.


The Lovely Bones ~ Alice Sebold

Started: June 21st 2019

Finished: June 28th 2019

Rated: 4

Likes: MYSTERY, Shows the thoughts and actions of other characters throughout the years

Dislikes: A lot of extra paragraphs full of detail

Notes: So it might not make a lot of sense but this story had so much extra detail. Which some people like, and it makes it a more mature and meaty story, but for me it just elongated what I really wanted: resolve.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page