top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

May Wrap-Up



A Million Worlds With You ~ Claudia Gray

Started: May 16th 2019

Finished: May 17th 2019

Rated: 4.5

Likes: Characters, twists and turns of the plot (in which I understood)

Dislikes: Too much jumping

Notes: I got lost in some of the jumping in between dimensions and people. It was confusing to keep track of alright now we're in this dimension, but oh your good and you're not etc.


The Book Thief ~ Markus Zusak

Started: May 1st 2019

Finished: May 21st 2019

Rated: 5

Likes: Writing style, characters, plot, narration

Dislikes: Slow parts

Notes: I'll be honest I was scared of this book because of the incredible hype surrounding it. That's part of why I read it so slowly. Also because I was hesitant of it for some reason I still have yet to fully figure out.


Illuminae ~ Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Started: February 27th 2019

Finished: May 23rd 2019

Rating: 4

Likes: Characters, Plot

Dislikes: Confusing as hell

Notes: First, I'd like to note that I started this in February and set it down for a long period of time until I picked it up a few days ago. Second, I started out purely with just the audiobook and that might be why I was confused to the max for the first half of this book. Then I switched to the audiobook and the physical copy and that made it 1000% more enjoyable for me.


Enchantée ~ Gita Trelease

Started: May 20th 2019

Finished: May 27th 2019

Rated: 5

Likes: Element of Magic, Characters, Kept me wondering, Plot

Dislikes: None

Notes: I really loved this book. Two of the things that I really enjoyed were 1. the element of magic and the role in played in the plot and 2. How this book kept me wondering, it seemed like every chapter there were something new for me to question and I wanted to keep on reading to figure it out


The Royal Runaway ~ Lindsay Emory

Started: May 22nd 2019

Finished: May 27th 2019

Rated: 4

Likes: Chemistry between characters, royal aspect, mystery/deception

Dislikes: Naiveness of main character

Notes: I expected this to be a fluffy contemporary, and while it kind of is, at the same time it isn't. It had way more drama and mystery/deception than a typical fluff book I would pick up. I enjoyed it being less fluffy than I had expected.


Midnight Without A Moon ~ Linda Williams Jackson

Started: May 28th 2019

Finished: May 29th 2019

Rated: 3

Likes: Rose, Hallelujah, Character inner-conflict about injustice, dreaming

Dislikes: INJUSTICE and everything surrounding it

Notes: trigger warnings: INJUSTICE, domestic abuse, mentions of extreme (fatal) violence, racism

I did enjoy this book don't get me wrong but the injustice against African Americans back then, and still even today in some places, is just horrific. It hurts me to know that while this story was fictional there are many stories that are too similar to this. This story even included real, tragic, historical events such as the murder of Emmett Till


Yay! This reading month was so much better than April! This month in general was a lot better than April. I finally feel like a person again after my emotionally draining breakup that I went through on the last day of March. Anyways, once I finished my spring semester halfway through May, I felt like I could breathe and read again, instead of being 100% focused on finals (Even though I read a book in less than 24 hours during finals week, whoops). I got a lot of reading done and did research on readathons. While doing this research I had never participated in one before but I decided I'd start simple with Current Readathon, which while at the time of writing this I am currently participating in, actually I'm about to start a 24 hour readathon (June 1st 2019) and it's my very first one... eeek! I'm really excited. ANYWAYS. May was a great month and I'm excited for what the summer reading months have in store.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page