top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

A Promised Land - Barack Obama


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


This book was jam-packed full of information! It was definitely a lot to take in and there is a lot to review in terms of a 700-page book. However, I'm going to leave most of it to Obama himself since he has such a way with words and it is more impactful to hear it from him (Would recommend the audiobook if you choose to pick this up).


Something I really enjoyed about this book was learning the background of Obama himself. His childhood, the things that impacted him at a young age, his journey to Indonesia, living in Hawaii, going to college and beyond that into the working world, and how he started delving into politics. Most, if not all, of that part of the book was new information to me. Or new in the fact that I learned it from him, rather than from the media. It means more when someone is telling you their background, rather than it being brought into question by the press and by a celebrity that literally has nothing to do with politics...


Anyway, despite having enjoyed this book a lot and gained a lot from it, it was waaaaaay too long! Somewhere near the beginning of the book, Obama discusses how he tends to have a problem with dragging out speeches and papers; well I can definitely see that being one of his flaws. The fact that this is only the first of two books?! Oh my gosh I don't know if I'll be able to read something so long and dense again! Props to him for having a lot to say, but some of it could have been cut in my personal opinion.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page