top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

Alex & Eliza - Melissa de la Cruz


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️½


This book ended up being way better than I expected! I only picked it up because I needed an audiobook to listen to while going on my walks, but it was so good!


I forget that I loved historical fiction and the revolutionary war! Even though the revolutionary war doesn't play a huge part in this story, the characters were living during that time and Alex converses with George Washington, so it made that element a little more prevalent than it would've been otherwise.


The beginning of this reminded me of Bridgerton (show not book), of the balls they would attend and the dance cards and the glances and words exchanged. When Eliza met Alex in the stairwell, it seemed almost like slow motion. Something right out of a show or movie. You could just tell based on her instant dislike but attraction to him, that it was going to be a glorious enemies(ish) to lovers.


I loved they characters and the plot and the romance. The way the author portrayed Alex's side of the romance was so refreshing. A man so helplessly in love with this girl who he feels deserves more than what he has to offer? He is a true man to want to give her more than what he can, but she does love him and their love is enough.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page