top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

Beach Read - Emily Henry


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


The hype is worth it.

That is all you need to hear. Don't let it scare you, don't let people tell you that it's not worth it, just stop reading this and go get this book right now.


This was fantastic. It was a romance about two authors that are both in a slump, until they make a bet with each other to write the other persons genre for a change. Fridays are dedicated to spending time together to research for literary fiction. Saturdays are for the cliché romantic montages to give an insight into how love works. Pasts are shared. Notes are written. Stories being crafted. All while love is brewing between them.


I knew I was going to love this. I wasn't scared by the hype or by the reading slump that I was in most of this month, I just knew that this book would sweep me off my feet and make me cry.


I'll start by saying that there wasn't anything I disliked about this. Usually there is something but with this, nope nothing. Even when I didn't feel like reading because of my slump, it wasn't because of this book; this book helped bring me out. Clearly this a romance, but at the same time it is so much more than that. It took on a lot but it conquered everything that it was set to do. There was no plot left without a wrapped, finished bow. There was no part that I wanted to skip. It felt real. Like these characters and what they've gone through are real. These are experiences that SOMEONE has had. Whether it be the frat basement, the breakup with someone you thought you were gonna marry, the death of a loved one, cheating, betrayal, letters, bookshelves and tents. I love that it felt real. It didn't feel like a different world, where the characters are floating on beautiful clouds. No. There was hurt in the book. Real pain and emotions and I cried where I needed to in this book, because damn did it pack a punch. It helped that I felt invested in these characters. That while I was watching them fall in love, I was falling in love with them separately and together. Ugh it was disgusting and beautiful at the same time.


I love that while the romance was the main plot, so was the writing. It was accompanying the romance throughout the whole book and was never set on the back burner. It wasn't something used at the beginning to get the characters together and never talked about again. It was there all the way until the epilogue. It didn't feel fake either, like the author didn't know what they were talking about; I mean clearly Emily Henry knows how to write a book because what else would this review be about?


It's just so good and worth the hype. I love love love it and what are you still doing here?

GO READ IT NOW!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page