top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

Becoming ~ Michelle Obama


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


This book was the kickstart to me reading again. I also wanted to get into audiobooks and that fact that this one was narrated by the author, the amazing, Michelle Obama made me even more ready to listen to it.


I'm not going to include a full synopsis, but I will say that this book is Michelle's story in full. All the details and stories from her beginning to where she is now.


I was captivated by her words from the very beginning. Everything about this book was beautifully written and it felt more like I was sitting in a coffee shop with her rather than me listening to an audiobook. I liked Michelle even before listening to this. I just had a feeling she was a truth speaking and resilient woman, and my inference was proven to be correct from listening to all that she has encountered throughout her life. There were things that I had no idea had happened to her that made me applaud her strength even more, specifically her problems with fertility and her miscarriage. This part specifically had a significant meaning to me because I was adopted into a family that couldn't naturally conceive a child and I've heard from my mom how hard it was to go through trying over and over again to have a baby.


Another thing that made this book overall special to me was that I got to share the experience of reading it with my biological mom. She was reading it at the same time I was listening to it and one day when we got lunch we talked about it briefly, and discovered we were around the same spot. It was right after Michelle had opened up about the fertility problems and we both, together, appreciated how strong she was.


Honestly, everyone should read or listen to this. I personally recommend listening because I think it makes it more personal. This story was real and it was so interesting to get to know the amazing woman that is Michelle Obama.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page