top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

I Am The Rage - Dr. Martina McGowan


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


I cannot even begin to explain how impactful, powerful and important this book is.


And I will state, because I feel as though it is important to acknowledge, my racial ignorance that comes with me being a white woman. There are experiences I will never understand. I do not want to take or rewrite experiences that are not my own. I do not want to steal what is not mine to express and rage about. However, I will stand with those who are outraged, because I am outraged too.


This book was powerful. I will repeat that over and over and over again. This is something that needs to be read over and over and over again. Something schools should have students of all ages read. America as a whole needs to read this book. Needs to engrave the message into our brains until there is no divide. We must always recognize the difference but we should embrace our differences as people and not divide up because of them. I do not believe in erasing color from the eye, as that is identity for people of all colors, but the injustice that happens due to the color of someones skin needs to be stopped. This book writes that message beautifully yet raw, necessary for such an important conversation.


I will recommend this to everyone. Whether they like poetry or not. Whether we have the same beliefs or not. Whether we have the same skin color or are the same gender. This is a book for everyone because it holds a message that everyone needs to read.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page