top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

In the Neighborhood of True - Susan Kaplan Carlton


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Thank you to Algonquin Books for reaching out to me to participate in this Book Tour and for providing me with a physical copy of the paperback arc!


This was an incredible story. The premise of the story is surrounded by the hate against people that are not white, are not Christians, are not the "ideal Southern"person/family.


After Ruth's father dies, her and her family move from non-restrictive and flexible, New York City, to old-beliefs, upheld traditions and sweet tea, Atlanta. Ruth quickly discovers that she can fit in with the popular kids, or she can be Jewish, but she cannot be both. She decides to hide her religion and soon she has these new friends and new crush, Davis, that are all apart of the all-Christians club. Deep inside, Ruth knows she can't hide her religion forever, and violence is brewing. Ruth will have to choose between all she loves in her new life or standing up for what she believes is right.


It has been a long time since I read a book that is centralized around Southern culture and beliefs. I have always found their traditions interesting and intriguing, and I like that things like the Magnolia Queen were included in this book.


I enjoyed how the author kept the injustice "silently" brewing in the background of the story until the breaking point. I know that it wasn't really silent, it was blatant and obvious, but with a character who is hiding her religion, it quietly brews until she knows she needs to stand up.


Somethings that felt a little off for me were, Max as a character and the ending. In my opinion, its always good to have a side character that can help bring the main character back to what is right, but to me Max didn't really do that. He was just kind of there as a plot guidance to help Ruth slowly realize her fault, but I didn't feel attached or interested in him at all. The ending just lacked the pack of the punch. I wanted more from it. It felt rushed and straight to the point, and even then I wasn't happy with it. There could've been more dialogue and intrigue and heartbreak. Without spoilers, there just could've been more to the ending.


I admire how the author also based this story off of a true event and also things that have happened in her life. She attended the temple that was mentioned in the book, and one day as they were leaving the temple, her daughter asked her "did you know my classroom was bombed?" and that is where it started.


I still 100% recommend this book! It discusses important topics and the writing style is great.


Make sure to check out the hashtag #intheneighborhoodoftrue on Instagram and Twitter to see the buzz about book!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page