top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

May the Best Man Win - ZR Ellor


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️


I liked this book, but at the same time I didn't. It had a lot of the petty high school drama that I desperately tried to escape back when I was in high school, so now that I have, I do not want to relive this almost-pushing-reality drama. Also how rich and privileged the school they go to is??? Oh my gosh. The budget their given just for homecoming is insane!


The drama in this book definitely does seem like it would fly in the real world. I get that this is some rich kid school with a lot of money and the kids have some freedom, but if any of the shit that happened in this book happened at my high school? Oh, there would be some really serious consequences. I get that this to make the book more interesting but I think there are better ways to do that while not pushing what is actually realistic.


Something else that really bothered me was how Naomi decided after fighting with Jeremy that she was going to date Lukas?? Honey, I don't care how hurt you are, or how much you've been put down, or put into second place, if there is even a chance we are still friends, you DO NOT go and date their ex. No. Never. Not acceptable. Also Lukas cheating on Naomi for that brief second? Again, no. I do not condone cheating in any way shape or form. I know that this was also to make the story more interesting but ooof noo.


I'm not sure if this is supposed to be considered a romance? Or like a lovers to enemies to lovers again? But in my personal opinion, I didn't really consider it a romance? I understood that Jeremy and Lukas had a history, but I didn't feel any of that romantic or sexual tension that I think we were supposed to feel as the reader. I didn't really support how they fought and it was all very toxic. This goes back to the high school petty drama, and how quickly we were able to move past things back in high school, but it was a lot to read and still want these characters to be together.


Something I did enjoy was the ending. I predicted something similar would happen, but I was not disappointed. I think the ending summed up how all the stupid drama affected them and how it was drawing them away for their actual goals. It was for the best though because neither of them really needed that crown in the end, and I'm glad they realized that.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page