top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

Rebel of the Sands ~ Alwyn Hamilton


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️


This is one of those books that I picked up a while ago that I thought I might still enjoy today. But honestly I bet I would've enjoyed it less when I picked it up before.


Summary

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mythical beasts still roam the wild and remote areas, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinn still perform their magic.  For humans, it’s an unforgiving place, especially if you’re poor, orphaned, or female.

Amani Al’Hiza is all three.  She’s a gifted gunslinger with perfect aim, but she can’t shoot her way out of Dustwalk, the back-country town where she’s destined to wind up wed or dead.

Then she meets Jin, a rakish foreigner, in a shooting contest, and sees him as the perfect escape route. But though she’s spent years dreaming of leaving Dustwalk, she never imagined she’d gallop away on mythical horse—or that it would take a foreign fugitive to show her the heart of the desert she thought she knew.


This book confused me so much. Every time I thought I understood what was going on, there was more description added or more backstory added that just confused what was actually going on in the plot. On the other hand, some things that would've made the plot easier to understand were not explained enough! This book could've been so much better if the right things were explained instead of writing more about things that would eventually confuse the reader more than they probably already were.


There were some things that I did like about the book (but being confused the whole time somewhat ruined them for me), I liked the magical aspect. I thought that the underlying magic running through the desert was interesting and to be honest, I wasn't really expecting what ended up happening with it but I did enjoy that part. Another thing I enjoyed was the desert setting. Not a lot of the books I read are set or told in an environment like that, so it was a nice change to see a story told in such a unique setting. Finally I liked the banter between Amani & Jin. You could tell they had chemistry from the first night they met each other and it was clear they were going to be a thing for the whole rest of the book. I did enjoy their little fights because it added depth to just a romantic relationship, but I also enjoyed the tiny bit of heat there was between them at moments. One thing I didn't like was how Jin lied to Amani for almost the entirety of the book about how he was subtly guiding her to the rebellion camp and how it wasn't really talked about after that except for how Amani was upset about it but she didn't ever confront Jin. I hope that is something that is some how resolved in the next book.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page