top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

Shades of Lovers: Poems - Catarine Hancock


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


This may be my favorite book of poetry I've ever read. I've always been a sucker for love poems, of all kinds; even the ones that tear your heart out of just chest and stomp on it until it's nothing. I know my love and I know how I feel about my loves, but you never really know if what you feel or felt is justified or makes sense. When I read this book, it all made sense. The one I thought was my first love, the ones I shouldn't have loved for a variety of reasons, the one who loved me to hurt another, the one who loved to hurt me, and the one that still has me reeling two years after.


This book reminded me that it's okay to look back fondly, it's okay to hurt, it's okay to acknowledge that wounds still open sometimes no matter how badly we want them to close and to never look at them again. But it also taught me that if we were to try and go back, we would find a grave of what was once our love. That love just dies, no matter how much we don't want it to, sometimes love is out of our control. It also reminded me of the importance of loving yourself. Something I didn't know much about after my last heart break, but I trudged my way back up from the bottom of the abyss and I'm still growing and working on loving me.


I love the shades of love aspect. The colors are something that I never considered but I will definitely think about now.


I want to thank the author for this book. For its raw emotion and vulnerability. I recognize it in myself, but sometimes there is something different about reading/hearing someone else's story. It means a lot to me.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentáře


bottom of page