top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

The Adoration of Jenna Fox - Mary E. Pearson

Rated: ⭐️⭐️⭐️ ½


This has taken me a while to write because 1. I completely forgot about it and 2. Because online college has turned my brain into complete mush. My routine has been royally messed up.


But I have finished a book this month! (On track to hopefully finish two more). I listened to this on audio from Scribd and it was okay. There were parts of it that had me captured, like the parts with the science and Jenna hearing voices in her head, accidents, weird coincidences and the end. That sounds like a lot right? No. Most of this book was just filler it felt like. Unnecessary scenes with characters I felt didn't have an impact on the story. Jenna going to school felt especially unnecessary. In my opinion there were other ways to have incorporated Ethan and Alice into Jenna's lives. Everything else about the school was just boring to me. I know it was supposed to be the transition about Jenna slowly figuring things out about herself and her life, but the transition didn't feel like it fit with the story. It felt too normal for such an abnormal story. I would've liked to have felt more connected to Jenna's overall journey throughout this book, but her going to school (which felt like a majority of the story) took over what could've been more development in her character and the science that plays a role. I guess I'm just disappointed in the direction the author took this book. However, I thought the ending was good, (SPOILER) (before and after the time jump), fit well with the course I wanted for this story and was a good introduction for the next book. Which I will read.. but I'm unsure when. I wasn't captivated enough to pick it up right away.


Okay things I did like about this, I liked the character interactions! I felt that the relationships started from zero and built up as Jenna progressed. I like that she ended up being close with Lily again, and that why their relationship was strained was explained to the reader. I liked how Jenna's relationship with her parents was in uncharted waters, and that her parents were unsure of what to do about it.


I liked the secrecy. I felt like that plays a part in the uncharted waters aspect because her parents kept huge things from her (as well as the reader). So when Jenna found out about things, we found out about them too, and we were just as surprised as she was. It made me feel a bit closer to Jenna as a character.


Going off of that, I really liked the science that was involved in this story. That while Jenna's dad is this high up bio-something guy, his role as a parent comes first to him. He brought a whole new aspect of science to the world inside this book!


I didn't like how immature Jenna felt as a character. I understand that she has woken up and literally remembers nothing, but she is 17, and a person that old doesn't act and speak like such a child. That was something that was continually an issue for me, as I felt it didn't get any better until the very, very end of the book.


I felt like the "romance" was kinda weird and unnecessary to the plot and direction of the story. Ethan kissed her a few times. Stuck up for her, but only kind of? And was way too invested in Jenna's problems for his own good. That was kind of all we got from Ethan. He played no significant role, he was just kind of there. Until the end when they described his true, overall purpose of being Jenna's romantic interest.


So while I did enjoy parts of this, it was mostly just okay.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page