top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

The Adventurer's Son - Roman Dial


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


The blurb on the front cover of this book could not be more accurate,


"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."

- Jon Krakauer


This book indeed ripped my heart out of my chest and crushed it to dust right before my eyes. I thought by knowing the expected ending before it began would have braced me for this ending but, along with Roman looking for his son, I still had hope that he would be found.


I enjoyed the adventure background of both the author and his son. Their treks were exotic and mysterious to me, seeming as I never have (and probably never will) explore the world in a way that they have. I commend both Roman Dial and Roman Cody Dial for their bravery, along with Peggy and Jazz as well.


My heart burns for Roman and Peggy especially, the stuff they endured throughout the process of searching for their son was a rollercoaster of emotions and tragic events. I applaud that they did not abandon their approach about searching for their son, from the beginning they knew he wasn't stupid when it came to adventuring especially in other countries. They exposed him to the world at a young age, he knew what he was doing.


I also appreciated the inclusion of quotes and accounts of Roman both of events in his adolescence and younger years and into his adult life. I enjoyed learning about him, both the kind of person he was and the things he enjoyed.


I cannot explain enough that this was indeed a beautiful story while also incredibly tragic and sad. For me, the most powerful moments in this book was when Roman explained that he was looking for any trace of his son, he was looking for a yellow Starburst wrapper along the green foliage. It was mentioned earlier in the book that Roman's favorite candy was a yellow starburst, and that his dad would carry them with him on one of their first expeditions together in Alaska. This hit me hard.


Thank you Roman Dial for sharing your story of your son with us. I respect your vulnerability but along with your strength and resilience. Thank you.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page