top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

The Dogs I Have Kissed - Trista Mateer


Rating: ⭐️⭐️


I really wanted to like this more than I did. Considering I really enjoyed the last collection of poetry I read from this author, I was expecting to enjoy this as well. But I just didn't.


This just felt so angry. Resentful.

I'm not trying to say that its not okay to be angry or resentful or to hurt, but to go about expressing it in this specific way, to such a degree.

It's not bad, but it's not my taste.

It's not where I'm at right now.


If I were as angry, resentful and hurt as the author at the time of reading this, I think I would have fully enjoyed it to the capacity to which it was written.


But to be completely honest... I was feeling second hand embarrassment while reading this. Especially during the sections where it was talking about Texts I Shouldn't Have Sent To My Ex, like oh my god... it was so bad and cringe. But if those are things she actually sent to her ex, then mad respect for sharing that with readers. If I had sent things like that to my ex, I would definitely not share them to the world, so again respect to the author for that.


I also think I felt disconnected from this because I'm just not on the same path as the author.

It seems like we are and have been living two completely different lives.

What she has experienced, I don't personally connect with. Again, I'm seriously not trying to invalidate any of the hurt she feels/felt, I'm just expressing my own opinions because I personally have never experienced a lot of what she describes.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page