top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

The Gravity of Us - Phil Stamper


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️


Thank you to Edelweiss+ for providing me with this Advanced Reader's Copy of The Gravity of Us.


This was a decent book. There were things about it that I liked and there were things about it I disliked.


Overall, there was nothing about this story that Wowed me. I thought the central theme would be about the space mission that Cal's Dad has just been accepted on. However, this book is more centralized around the drama surrounding StarWatch and their reality TV show about the NASA astronauts and their families while living in Houston.


The concept sounded fascinating, and that is why I requested this advanced copy (let's not talk about how I am a few months late on giving my review...), but I was more interested in this space mission to Mars rather than Cal's FlashFame skyrocket to Journalist/Reporter fame. While, this would've made an interesting side plot to the space mission, this unfortunately was part of the main plot and the actual space mission was on the side. The parts we did get visiting the NASA center were really fascinating, and the FlashFame Cal did on the guy who liked dirt? Why was that so cool to me?! I did like the Reality TV aspect to this story, and if the stories main plot had been more space centralized I think this really could've been something amazing. When it comes to characters, I liked Leon and Kat and surprisingly Donna? Even though Donna and Kat had little to nothing to do with this actual story they were just kind of there to help move Cal and Leon through the plot, I did enjoy them.


What I didn't enjoy about this book was how selfish Cal was for a majority of the book in almost all aspects and the romance. I understand that we are getting to know Cal and his background at the beginning of the book, but he acts all selfish when his Dad is considering this job for the NASA Mars mission. He blames his Dad for uprooting his life (which I get is a big deal) and ruining his dreams. The dreams part is a little much for me... while I understand that you have a big following on FlashFame and a set up internship for Buzzfeed, this thing your Dad is doing, could change the future. I'm sorry but that is way more important. You can be as upset as you want about the transition but don't make the whole thing about you. Maybe, try to be happy for your dad. Also the romance. It felt so unnecessary. And of course this is just my opinion, there are many things that can be enjoyed from this romance, but from someone who felt the space centralized plot was lacking, the last thing I want is an angsty teen romance to take over the spotlight from that.


What I am trying to say is, is that I need more Y/A Space books in my life, and this didn't completely fulfill my want for that. If you are looking for an angsty young adult romance with some space elements, then this would be the perfect book for you!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page