top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

The Great Gatsby - F. Scott Fitzgerald


Original Read Rating in April 2017

5 stars

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Reread #1 Rating January 2020

3.5 stars

⭐️⭐️⭐️½


I think the movie tainted my opinion on the book. The first time I read it, I hadn't seen the newest movie, so I read it and then watched the movie and I was infatuated with Leonardo DiCaprio as Gatsby (but like who isn't tbh) and that made me like the book even more the first time around.


However, now I've seen the glorious movie with the infamous raising of the glass by Gatsby

gif




And I can't help but think, why can't Leo just jump into the book and make it as good as the movie?? Because this time around it lacked for me and I think it's because I wanted it to be as spectacular and roaring-twenties-esk, as the movie made me feel. My mom asked me, "Well can't you just picture them while reading?" and like I did, but it's not the same. You can't just picture Leo as Gatsby, you must see him as Gatsby.


I sound dramatic but it's the truth. Maybe I will try this again in the future after watching the movie again.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page