top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

The Hate U Give - Angie Thomas


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


When I think of this book and trying to come up with the words to review it, there are no words. No words that I can write that will articulate better than Angie Thomas herself. This book is about hate. This book is about injustice. This book is about death. This book is about a lot of things.


I need to say this right now instead of at the end; If you haven't read this yet, please just pick it up, make it next on your read list, read the synopsis for the first time (or again), read the first chapter, anything. This book deserves its hype. It deserves promotion. It deserves to never stop trending.


Angie Thomas, you did such an incredible job. And that honestly means nothing coming from me. I loved this book and what it talked about. How vulnerable it was. Everything. Thank you for writing this. Thank you sharing this story with the world and myself. I just cannot get over how important it is that people read this book. People need to know of these kind of accounts, the kind that Starr had with Khalil. It breaks my heart to know that they never get the justice they deserve. Because it's not right what happened. A hairbrush is not a gun.


Angie Thomas, your writing is exquisite. You know how to piece the words together to make this extravagant piece of art, and again, I just want to say thank you for sharing it with us, with me. I loved this book.


The quote that really hit different with me from this book was this one,


“Good-byes hurt the most when the other person’s already gone.”

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page