top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

The Sun Is Also A Star ~ Nicola Yoon


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


This is one of those books that has been on my "To-Read" list since my 2016 reading kick that lasted long enough for me to read one book. Since then, I'd like to say that my reading style has changed so I was unsure whether or not I would still be interested in this book. Nevertheless, I was still interested and very much enjoyed this book.


Natasha is a girl who believes strictly in science and facts, not in any "uncertain" things like fate or destiny or dreams for that matter. She is definitely not the type of girl that would meet a cute boy on a crowded New York street one day and fall in love with him. Especially not on the day her and her family are twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Natasha is determined to not fall in love. Daniel has always been the good son, the good student, living up to his parents' high expectations. Deep down he is a poet and a dreamer, but being the good son comes before both of those things. After meeting her though, he discovered clarity. Something about her makes him think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store for both of them together. The idea of being the good son his entire life is thrown out the window and caution is thrown to the wind. He isn't afraid of falling in love and he is determined to show Natasha that fate is real and they are meant to be together. The universe is made of every moment in our lives that has brought us to where we are today. And a million futures lie ahead, which future will come true for Daniel and Natasha?


Writing that mini-synopsis really made it clear to me how cliché this book was and in a sense I enjoyed that aspect but at the same time, I. do. not. like. insta. love. Natasha and Daniel kind of made it work because it seemed like this one day lasted forever (384 pages of forever) but still, I'm not sure if I believe in that kind of fate. There were also parts of this book that were extremely cringey and unenjoyable because they were so cringey. Like getting so caught up in the "extreme passion" that they both wanted to have sex at some karaoke place. Like no. You just met this boy, come on.


On the other hand, there were parts of this book I did really enjoy. Like the other perspectives that were randomly included throughout the book. That is what made this book truly unique in my opinion and is one of the reasons I enjoyed it so much. One that really stood out to me was Irene and, long story short, how Natasha saved her life. That one little action that took two seconds saved her life. That is pure and honestly a real part of reality that I think people often forget. I also enjoyed the not cringey romance parts between Natasha and Daniel, like when they were on the roof or learning more about each other (even if it was just a day packed full of unrealistic romance).


Overall I did enjoy this book more than I didn't enjoy it. It wasn't poorly written and the plot wasn't bad, I just dislike the whole insta love cringe and that makes me more critical than I would normally would be. The word my mom and I have for books like this is fluff. Fluff is in no means a bad description for a book and sometimes it is really nice to have a fluff read with all the negative there is in the world. I would recommend this to people who want to read a light contemporary and that are not bothered by insta love.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page