top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

The Swift - Ricky Dragoni

Updated: Nov 9, 2019


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


I am so glad that I found this book at my state's book festival! It had the exact suspenseful and horrific vibe that I was craving when I picked it up.


I met the author, Ricky Dragoni, at the book festival and he was great! He recommended this book to me because I was wanting to dip my foot in the horror genre again. This ended up being a great start for me in regards to wanting to do that! Thank you for the rec. Ricky!


This book is about the people of Storm Lake who were left behind after a military evacuation. Technology and most modern day functions have ceased to exist, leaving the people that were abandoned to fend for themselves, specifically Coach Mike Larson and one of his athletes, Levi. During the evacuation they were separated from their families and have miraculously found each other in the efforts to survive against these mysterious and deadly creatures called The Swift. Nobody knows what the Swift are or where they came from, but it is clear that they are out to attack and kill anyone who tries to fight them. Are they human? Are they aliens? Nobody seems to know, but everyone knows they have to do what it takes to survive in this apocalyptic war against them, in hopes of one day reuniting with their families again.


This truly was exactly what I was looking for. A story that would have me turning the page desperately wanting to know what was coming next. It was a well thought out plot with different twists and turns that I enjoyed a lot. My favorite part of the book was the twist ending, which I didn't expect at all but ended up loving! It made me rethink the entire book and it all made sense after that.


I would've loved for this book to have had even more detail in some parts. The gruesome and gory parts but also just more description of the setting in general. I think it would've captivated me more than it already did and added another layer to the plot.


Overall, this book was great and I would recommend to anyone looking to try out a horror book. It is a quick and easy read that will have you shocked by the end!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page