top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

The Unhoneymooners ~ Christina Lauren


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️½


To be completely honest I'm still not the biggest fan of purely romantic books, yet. However, the synopsis and what I heard from certain BookTubers made me interested in what this book had to offer. It also made me interested in the two co-authors.


Synopsis

Olive is always unlucky: in her career, in love, in…well, everything. Her identical twin sister Ami, on the other hand, is probably the luckiest person in the world. Her meet-cute with her fiancé is something out of a romantic comedy (gag) and she’s managed to finance her entire wedding by winning a series of Internet contests (double gag). Worst of all, she’s forcing Olive to spend the day with her sworn enemy, Ethan, who just happens to be the best man.

Olive braces herself to get through 24 hours of wedding hell before she can return to her comfortable, unlucky life. But when the entire wedding party gets food poisoning from eating bad shellfish, the only people who aren’t affected are Olive and Ethan. And now there’s an all-expenses-paid honeymoon in Hawaii up for grabs.

Putting their mutual hatred aside for the sake of a free vacation, Olive and Ethan head for paradise, determined to avoid each other at all costs. But when Olive runs into her future boss, the little white lie she tells him is suddenly at risk to become a whole lot bigger. She and Ethan now have to pretend to be loving newlyweds, and her luck seems worse than ever. But the weird thing is that she doesn’t mind playing pretend. In fact, she feels kind of... lucky.


This book ending up being a lot better than I thought it would be at the very beginning. I remember specifically updating Goodreads and saying something along the lines of I'm not really that into this. Well, I ended up getting into it. Because as soon as Ethan & Olive got to the airport and the whole airplane fiasco began, it got interesting. From there I just kept wanting to see their relationship blossom. For them to discover the details about each other that they don't know, and that definitely did end up happening and I very much enjoyed it. Also throughout the book, before and during the romance, the banter between them was so enjoyable. One of the "catchphrases" as I would call it that I specially liked is that they kept saying that they liked to annoy each other and that is what makes them spending time together enjoyable, obviously this changes as the romance comes but they still continue to say that.


Another thing I liked was at the very very end. I wouldn't necessarily call it a spoiler because I'm not revealing anything about the plot of the book just more what I liked about the structure of the book, so if you think that's spoilerish, just skip this part. I liked the change in the point of view. I liked getting to see the thoughts of the other main character during all of the events that went down during that whole last portion of the book. It made it enjoyable especially to see what he thought of her (like I said) and how her perceived her, it was just so cute and that is not something my newly black heart likes to admit, but it was.


This book genuinely was mostly good and there really wasn't anything that made me not like it except for one thing. The whole part where nobody chose to believe Olive. Which fine, makes sense because Ethan is Dane's brother and Ami wants to believe her new husband and significant other of a long time, of course nobody wants to think that they have been consistently cheated on since almost the beginning of the relationship, but still PLEASE consider that Olive could have a point. I understand Ami because there could be some initial shock but to really blow up at her sister like that seemed so unnecessary and it just made me mad. Instead of letting her sister explain a little more or even comfort her or anything, she just blew up at her calling out Olive's flaws and why she could in no way be right. Then goes to say that Olive isn't worth it essentially, leaves and then chooses to ignore her for who knows how long. Ethan on the other hand decides that communication isn't key and that was the one moment where I was just like... COME ON, BE A MAN AND TALK TO HER. One of my pet peeves is when people don't listen and he just didn't even take into consideration anything she was saying and immediately assumed it was false. Then went on the break up with her. Like oh my god that is so much overkill. I understand that all of this is to add interesting aspects to the plot, which it did in a sense, but in my opinion what bothered me about all of this is that Ami and Ethan during this part of the book didn't fit into how their characters acted for the whole other part of the book. It's like they became completely different people and that just didn't sit well with me. It's not like I didn't enjoy the plot going that direction but I think it could've been done in a different and better way that kept the characters more of themselves. Dane on the other hand, I expected him to be a heada*s from the beginning so I wasn't exactly surprised.


So pretty much my one issue with this book is just a personal preference and not a significant flaw in the book, that is why my rating is only down by half a star because I really did enjoy like 90% of this book. It's just that one part that irked me. But after it essentially ended, the book was better for me again. I would recommend it.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bình luận


bottom of page