top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

These Witches Don't Burn - Isabel Sterling


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


This was it. This was the book. It officially pulled me out of my slump. It was also an incredible read for the current season (spooky season) and had aspects that I enjoyed a lot.


I've been in a slump for what seems like an eternity, so it's refreshing to fly through a book I'm interested in and still have motivation to pick up something else.


I love witches and wizards and everything under the umbrella, so this was to my liking. I enjoyed the setting of Salem because of the witch history there. I love that there was a developed backstory for each type of witch and for Hannah's coven. The characters meshed well, even when there were complications between them, I felt connected to each of their stories (even though most are intertwined). I loved the differing relationships, Veronica and Hannah, Hannah and Gemma, Hannah and Morgan and even Hannah and her parents, each pair there was development and involvement in the plot. It wasn't like some characters were left out after being developed.


I also enjoyed the LGBTQ+ representation. I felt like it was what made the story unique and more than just witches and a basic romance.


Along that line, the plot also made it more than basic. The twists and turns, while predictable to some, kept me wanting to read more. I'm someone who tries to predict where a story is going and ends up being either slightly correct or completely wrong; but I love that I'm never right! It makes stories more interesting for me! Anyways this plot took me on a ride down a winding road, so many events took place it was just one crazy thing, a semi normal thing, and another crazy thing! I know a lot of people don't like a story that has a whole bunch of crazy things happening but it captivated me in this particular story and it fit well, it wasn't like it didn't make any sense for these crazy things to be happening. I'm excited to see where the sequel takes the direction of the plot!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page