top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

This Coven Won't Break - Isabel Sterling


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️


It is hard for me to wrap my head around why I didn't fully enjoy this book. I think it is a mix of things.


First, when comparing this book to the first, it just lacks in all categories. The first book had better character development/introduction. It had a better plot and better plot development. The writing seemed better in the first book to me, however the writing in the second book felt more mature; less of a young adult book and more on the edge of new adult. It makes me feel like the author purposely wrote a cliff hanger in the first book, so another book could be made, not because she had specific ideas in mind. Again, this is all my personal opinion.


There was more intrigue in the first book as well. The things that helped drive the plot, had a purpose. Where in this book, I felt like the things that were supposed to help drive the plot, in actuality, steered me further from it down a path that didn't relate to the plot much, if at all.


The ending also felt rushed and without closed ends. I don't know if this was on purpose and was a decision made by the author, or if they thought they tied it up nicely (no cliff hanger I guess), but there are so many more things I want tied up. It also would've been nice to trim down much of the "production" that took up half this book and give the climax and ending more thought and time.


It was nice being with these characters again, I'm just sad I didn't enjoy them as much the second time around.


(Counted as Chalice: A Book with something Elemental for the Clear Your Shit Readathon)

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page