top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

White Rose ~ Kip Wilson


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


I remember reading the description for this book a few months ago and being interested in it. Then a month or so after that seeing it in a bookstore, but deciding that I wasn't going to purchase it. Then it seemingly disappeared off of my radar; I never saw it on Goodreads or at Barnes & Noble. But after returning to college and going to back to one of my favorite places, the public library, it seemingly made its way back into my life.


Yes I had read this description and was interested by the subject matter, however I didn't know going into this that it was written in verse. I didn't know, but it was exactly what I needed to help pick me up out of my reading slump. It went by so fast that I didn't have to plot chase because the story just glided along smoothly, in a way that was enjoyable for me. I think the verse is what made this good. The author did the research on the true story, but presented it in a way where only the most important details were discussed and not much was fabricated. I liked this a lot.


It really is heartbreaking to learn about what happened to these people for their efforts to try to stop one of the most horrific parts in world history. But it also is important for these kinds of stories to be written, for people to know of the ones who fought against what was perceived as right in that time. World War 2 is one of my favorite historical events to learn about, despite it also one of the most heartbreaking and horrible. Usually, the stories I read about the war are about soldiers or generals or allies or something along those lines. However, this story was about the rebellious Germans who distributed pamphlets hoping to get people to abandon Hitlers cause. What made this story even better was the alternating time perspectives between before they get caught and after they get caught. I also like how some side characters thoughts are featured as well.


Overall I'm glad I picked this up on whim after not hearing about it for some time. It was exactly what I needed right now.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page