top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

Wonderstruck - Brian Selznick


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Brian Selznick never fails to impress me when writing children/middle grade/young adult books.


The way he writes and illustrates scenes is amazing. His word choice and prose goes above and beyond what I usually read in other books from this age group(s). It's mature in the sense that the words he uses, some younger readers wouldn't know but gives the more advanced readers at that age a chance to be wowed.


The illustration style is something I love about Brian Selznick. Not every story is the same but it feels as though they take place in the same universe and that's due to the illustrations. This is just a personal connection I have and not one that has been proved by Selznick himself. But nevertheless, it's something I enjoy.


Something particular about this books storyline I found unique and fascinating was how the prose took place in the present and the illustrations took place in the past at the beginning of the book. This isn't something we know until later on as a reader, but I wouldn't really consider it a spoiler. When it all comes together, it all seems to make sense and gives some characters more depth than we originally assumed as a reader.


There were some character details I wanted to know more about, but I realize this is unrealistic as the book is long already and fitting more details into it would make it more dense.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page