top of page
  • Writer's pictureJade Melody

You Are Awesome - Neil Pasricha


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Received an arc from Edelweiss+ for an honest review


I am so glad that I finally got around to reading this book! This was my first time reading a book by Neil Pasricha and I already know that I want to pick up his other books. He has a way of providing useful tips while also being truthful.


The fact that he tells it like it is, makes his tips that more useful. It's not like other self-help books where they paint this perfect picture and then give you these unrealistic tips. No. Pasricha explains the backstory and where each of the tips came from. Whether it be a mistake, a lesson learned from his mom or dad, a divorce, a unique body deformation, whatever it is, it is real and personal to Pasricha somehow. And I really respect him for sharing these stories with us.


The story that really stood out to me was the one from his scholarship donor that was apart of the Harvard School of Business, where he told Pasricha "Find small ponds so you can be the big fish." What an interesting perspective; and for a college student wanting a job in a business related field it was something I had never thought about. Of course we want to work for the biggest and best companies, but we are all competing for those jobs, where we wouldn't do much work. Why not take the risk and be the big fish in the small pond and bring a business up from bankruptcy. It's a difficult job but it was interesting advice.


I also really enjoyed the beginning and end of this book. It started with Pasricha giving us our first tip based on the life story of his mom. I'm not going to reveal any of it because I believe it needs to be revealed when reading the book. But then the book ends with our last tip based from Pasricha's Dad's life. He began and ended with his parents and them middle was for us to learn about him. I really enjoyed this format and getting to know about him and his parents.


Overall I did really enjoy this books; the tips were actually useful and I feel like I can and will apply them to my own life.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page